Very interesting drive on Sunday into some desert Canyon’s. The desert flowers are still in full bloom and the weather is gorgeous. What else can you ask for?

The target on Sunday was Canyon Sin Nombre or “No name” canyon and Arroyo Tapiado where the mud caves are. I have driven neither before. First was this Ocotillo plant on Hwy S2 close to Sweeney Pass which is also close to where the canyon starts.

170326-0882

The sign to mark the canyon entrance reads only if your driving south to north and we were driving south but stopped at a lookout where I saw this sign.
170326-0886

The trail got tricky real fast and I tested the Renegade for the first time. I had to use 4×4 low and Ann had to spot me to get through some rocks in the trail. No pics of this section as I was too focused on just getting through which we did. This was just prior to the rough section.
170326-0888

After that it was fairly easy going for the rest of the day. But the geology was interesting.
170326-0889

We reached the end of Canyon Sin Nombre and then headed up Arroyo Tapiado to find some mud caves. This is a very interesting trail with high side walls and a zig-zag trail that went for miles.
170326-0894

170326-0900

The truck in front of us shows the scale of the trail side walls.
170326-0904

170326-0902

170326-0905

I was so focused on driving over rocks, around bends, that I never noticed any mud caves. I suspect they are in the small slot canyons that would run off the main trail. I am pleasantly pleased with the performance of the Renegade in these canyons. This is why I bought this vehicle. No way you can do this with a two wheel drive street car like my old VW Golf.

170326-0897

We didn’t finish the full loop of Arroyo Tapiado and will do the whole loop on another trip. We turned around at the 19.5 mile mark of trail riding and drove back to the Highway (S2) on Vallecito Creek wash. It was a fun day.
170326-0906

Leave a Reply

